Ruin Lavin

Ruins Gonda

img_4kq_dccgabfi
img_4kq_dabechcg

Show all 3 images

img_4kq_dabechce
Gonda is an abandoned settlement from the 12th century near Lavin in the Lower Engadine in the Swiss canton of Graubünden. The area of Gonda has been protected by the Swiss Confederation since 1987.

Description

Since there are hardly any documents about Gonda, little is known about the history of the village. The first written mention dates back to 1161, 1317 a Gebhard of Gonda is mentioned. In the 16th century, Gonda was referred to as the faction of Lavin. Ulrich Campell describes Gonda in 1570 in his "Raetiae alpestris topographica descriptio" as a village with about 30 houses. In 1741, Nicolin Sererhard mentions Gonda as abandoned and uninhabited in the "Einfalte Delineation of all the congregations of common three frat" gonda as abandoned and uninhabited.

When exactly and why Gonda was abandoned by its inhabitants is not known, certainly several reasons played a role. In addition to the difficult economic situation at the beginning of the 17th century and the Austrian invasion around 1620 by Alois Baldiron during the Grisons turmoil, natural threats from avalanches and floods of the creek were added in the immediate vicinity.

In addition to the ruins of the church, the remains of the walls of another nine buildings have been preserved. The partly heavily overgrown ruins stand in wielland interspersed with shrub and tree groups. In some walls, window and door openings can still be seen.

1983, the municipality of Lavin founded the foundation "Fundaziun Pro Gonda". It aims to explore the history of the settlement and to preserve and secure its ruins. Gonda offers a rare opportunity to explore a medieval village structure that has not been destroyed by subsequent superstructures.

Directions

Public Transport

  • Mit der Rhätischen Bahn (von Chur, Prättigau oder Oberengadin) stündlich bis Lavin

Directions

  • Von Norden: über Landquart – Klosters per Autoverlad durch den Vereinatunnel (Selfranga - Sagliains) oder über den Flüelapass ins Unterengadin auf H27
  • Von Osten: via Landeck / Österreich in Richtung St. Moritz auf H27
  • Von Süden: via Reschenpass (Nauders-Martina) oder Ofenpass (Val Müstair-Zernez) auf H27

Parken

  • Kostenpflichtige Parkplätze im Dorf vorhanden

Map

Responsible for this content Tourismus Engadin Scuol Samnaun Val Müstair AG.
This content has been translated automatically.

Outdooractive Logo

This website uses technology and content from the Outdooractive platform.